Vegan Collegiate Does Italian

Like most Americans, I am a descendant of practically every mix of European countries, although about 50% Dutch. However, I have always been confused by the fact that I am in no ways Italian even though Italian food may be my most favorite type of dish. My parents know that when I come home for vacations the first restaurant I want to go to is the adorable little Osteria in our town, owned by first generation Italians. I’m pretty sure I could out eat anyone I know in a pasta competition. Thus I am always looking for new ways to eat Italian food and this fact combined with the grape tomatoes going bad in my fridge lead to the creation of a truly delicious tomato sauce. With a little addition of some hot sauce this is perfect to add to some whole wheat pasta with any vegetables you could want. I actually used my favorite cut carb trick with this – zucchini noodles. I just peeled off layers of zucchini into pasta-like strips, chopped up the core of the zucchini, added broccoli and warmed the whole thing on medium heat until everything was cooked through. I added the sauce and viola – a perfect, easy, college dinner.

Easy Spicy Tomato Sauce

Three tablespoons olive oil

2 cloves of garlic

1 pint of cherry tomatoes

Quarter of a medium sized yellow onion (about the size of a tennis ball)

2 tsp of salt

Tablespoon Tabasco sauce

Heat oil over medium heat until hot then add minced garlic. Once the garlic has begun to brown add the rest of the ingredients. Keep on medium heat for five minutes then pop all the cherry tomatoes. Lower the heat to a simmer and cover for 40 minutes.

Tomatoes before squishing

Zucchini pasta with spicy tomato sauce and broccoli

Enjoy! Perhaps a pizza recipe is soon to follow 🙂

Leave a comment