Baking Inside the Box

I’m sure it has become apparent to all of you that I love chocolate. Whether you got this idea from my vegan Nutella post or just assumed that because I’m a 19 year old college girl, you’re right. Sadly, obtaining delicious chocolatey treats in college is more difficult than it would seem. I’m not a huge fan of dark chocolate, so those aren’t really an option. I can’t afford expensive baking ingredients needed for true, gourmet vegan baking (nor do Baltimore Giant supermarkets carry many vegan tools). So I come to you today urging you that it is not wrong to not go homemade. I promise that no one will complain that you didn’t make the warm, gooey, peanut butter, chocolate brownies from scratch. This is college. If it’s free, people will eat it. If it’s chocolate, people will love it.

Thus I have gone back to reliable Duncan Hines brownie boxes. And it may surprise you, as it did surprise me, that most of them are vegan! Just check the list to be absolutely sure, but the box i used definitely was. Sub out the eggs for a corn starch replacement, add some of your own love (aka peanut butter), and you have a delicious, crave-worthy treat.

I’ve actually ended up using the boxes twice in the past week or so. Once I actually did make brownies and they turned out great. But of course I had to get creative with them. So the second time I made brownie cupcakes with a peanut butter surprise in the center. Basically I poured brownie batter into muffin tins, put about a teaspoon of peanut butter in the middle of each, and the covered it with more batter.

So. SO. Good.

Below is a picture of just the normal brownies – it doesn’t nearly do them justice (but seeing as I took the picture in a frat house kitchen I hope you will all forgive me).

So once more I urge you – don’t be afraid of the box. We aren’t all master bakers, and we don’t all have unlimited amounts of time. And this is just one more way I want to remind everyone that being vegan doesn’t restrict you. Just check the ingredient list!

Enjoy!

 

Brownies from the Box!

Leave a Reply

