Taco Tuesday!

I wish I had an excuse for not posting… I could say that summer was crazy because I was abroad or that this semester (my last semester as a collegiate!) has been insanely busy. Alas, I won’t even try, I’ll just try to do more. So here is the beginning of that:

IMG_7459

Embracing the #foodintheair movement

Like I said previously, I still try to eat vegan around 75% percent of the time, and this recipe falls in that majority. Mexican is one of the easiest ethnic foods to veganize. It relies on veggies, it includes avocado, it has a varied number of vegan condiments, it has avocado. And you can basically put anything in tacos and they will taste good.

I’ve never really considered myself the kind of person who is a “purist” when it comes to any recipe. I like to experiment and my pantry is rarely stocked with consistent ingredients. But for some reason I always find myself putting the same ingredients into my tacos, every Tuesday: onions, green peppers, crumbled tempeh, black beans, corn, Trader Joe’s taco seasoning, Trader Joe’s taco shells, salsa and, obviously avocado. Now I’m not going to lie. This makes for a great taco. But I wanted to change things up a little bit for the post so I added a certain craving I had been having: Old Bay potatoes.

Anyone who has ever lived in Baltimore knows the holiness that is Old Bay. It’s a simple collection of seasoning: celery salt, paprika, garlic, salt, etc. But it could make anything taste good. It’s my go-to recipe saver, no matter what I’m making, whether that’s soup, stir-fry or even pasta sauces. I’ve seen a lot of bloggers put potatoes into their tacos, so I thought I would put the Maryland twist on it.

The instructions for this recipe are pretty loose. If the onions look cooked, add the peppers. If the peppers looked cooked, add the tempeh. Saute it around until the seasoning is stuck well to everything. That’s just about as precise as I can get. And obviously you can make this more fancy, like actually make guacamole. Tuesdays are just a crazy day for me so I like to keep it fast and simple.

IMG_7457

Ingredients:

1/2 cup black beans. I used canned and just drained them before.

1/2 cup corn. Again, canned and then drained, together with the beans.

4 small red potatoes, cut into thin strips

1 teaspoon Old Bay

1/2 sweet onion, sliced,

1/2 green pepper, sliced

1/2 cup of crumbled tempeh

1/2 tablespoon Trader Joe’s taco seasoning (or to your taste)

4 taco shells

1/2 avocado, sliced

1/3 cup salsa, or as much as you want

Directions:

1. Heat non-stick pan over medium heat. When pan is ready, add potatoes and Old Bay.

2. Saute until cooked through, about 5-7 minutes. Take out of pan and put to side.

3. Turn oven on warm and stick taco shells inside.

4. Reheat pan over medium heat. Don’t rinse the pan between uses.

5. Add onions. Cook until translucent

6. Add peppers. Cook until soft.

7. Add tempeh and taco seasoning. Cook until the seasoning is well stuck to everything.

8. Toss in the corn and beans if you want them warm, totally up to you.

9. Compile tacos by taking out the shells, adding onion-pepper-tempeh-corn-bean mix, then adding potatoes, salsa and avocado. Eat. All of them.

Enjoy! IMG_7458

Leave a Reply

