The Terrorist Attack on Boston and My Pledge

It is a rarity that I ever do two posts in one day, but in response to the recent events in Boston I felt it necessary to say a few words. As many of you know I am from Cape Cod, a short drive to Boston, which I have always considered my city. I know the streets and the T well and many of my friends and family live there. I am sure all of you have heard of the terrorist attack on Boston today, targeting the finish line of the Boston Marathon, a timeless tradition of my city. One of my best friends ran in it and I am so thankful that she finished before the attack. However, this does not alleviate the pain of the 141 injured and two killed, including an 8 year old boy.

I am not going to focus on the anger I feel towards whoever felt it necessary to disrupt such a beautiful moment as crossing the finish line after 26.2 grueling miles, coming towards a cheering crowd. Instead I want to appreciate the prayers and thoughts that have poured out to Boston today; never has my newsfeed on Facebook or Twitter ever made me miss home so much or feel so proud of where I come from. I am especially proud and gracious to the policemen, firemen, marathon personnel and the bystanders who took action immediately to help the injured. Considering the enormity of the annual event, the consequences could have been much greater without their incredible efforts.

A marathon is test of human strength. Today it also became a test of humanity. I have never been a runner, never been able to push past 5 miles without giving up. But I know the runners today overcame much more than my petty asthma and tendonitis to run the Boston Marathon, and now 141 will be forced to overcome even more. So I have decided to train for the Cape Cod Marathon that comes in the Fall to honor the victims and all people affected by this tragedy. I feel that this is a respectable way to pay my respects to the athletes who worked so hard for today and traveled from all over the world to the beautiful city of Boston.

All my love is in Boston tonight. Thank you to everyone who feels the same.

2 thoughts on “The Terrorist Attack on Boston and My Pledge

  1. So proud of you, your pledge and Boston. Poppa and Charlie said they’ll team up with you and ill provide love SMS support from the sidelines. Maybe Matt will come east and make it a family pledge

  2. This is such a noble gesture of you. I wish you all the best! I’m so glad your best friend and everyone else you know in Boston is okay. Boston is about to be my new home for grad school starting this fall so it’s hit me hard too – though I can’t imagine how it is for you and other Bostonians.

Leave a Reply

