Spring Semester and More Things with Peanut Sauce

Hello my patient readers! I’ll apologize now for my lack of posts in the last week, but I’d like to think the start of second semester is a worthy excuse. It’s definitely going to be a busy one, with sorority rush, internship applications, study abroad applications, and regular school work. I’m excited to say that I’m actually taking a class on blogging this semester, so maybe there will be some new tricks coming up in future blog posts.

I hope everyones New Year’s resolutions have been going well. I’ve gone to the gym almost every day since coming back to school and I feel as if I’ve been eating healthier. However, it’s restaurant week here in Baltimore so eating out is a must. I’ve already gone to The Dogwood in Hampden, and it was great. I got their vegan caesar salad and a powerhouse sandwich. Both were great.

For those of you who are getting sick of juice cleanses and new diets, I have a great low-carb and delicious meal idea. I think I’ve wrote before about my love for zucchini noodles. And I know I’ve written about my love for peanut butter sauces. So why not combine the two?

DSCN0114

 

DSCN0117

Pad thai is one of my favorite dishes, mostly because of the peanut sauce. So here is my healthy take on peanut sauce. Most recipes I see on the internet have way too much peanut butter, which makes for a sauce high in fat. I think the balance between agave and peanut butter in this version makes for a great sauce. Paired with zucchini and broccoli, this dish becomes a perfect and fast weeknight meal.

Peanut Sauce:

DSCN0107

Ingredients (makes 3/4 cup):

1/4 cup smooth peanut butter

1/8 cup sesame oil

1/4 cup agave

1 tbsp. water

3/4 tsp. ground ginger

DSCN0108

Directions:

1. Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix until well combined. Taste sauce, add salt and pepper to taste.

This sauce can be refrigerated for about 3 days, just microwave to soften before using.

Zucchini Noodles (individual portion, I used about two tablespoons of the peanut sauce)

DSCN0105

1. Peel one zucchini until you feel the peeler scraping the seeds.

2. Toss the noodles in about a greased saute pan over medium heat for about 4 minutes.

3. While the noodles are cooking, chop the rest of the zucchini and then add this to the noodles.

4. Saute until the zucchini is warmed through but not mushy. It should not be very hot.

5. Toss with peanut sauce and whatever add ins you like. I used broccoli, but edamame, peanuts, bean sprouts etc would all be great.

DSCN0113

 

DSCN0115

These noodles are a go to for me for a low carb way to curb my pasta craving. I plan on trying shirataki noodles next. Anyone have some suggestions for recipes?

Hopefully I won’t drown in reading and will continue to be active on the blog. Also what does everyone think of the white background for the blog? I’m trying a minimalist theme now, but I’d love criticisms or suggestions!

DSCN0116

 

One thought on “Spring Semester and More Things with Peanut Sauce

Leave a Reply

