Brady and Co – Vegan Superbowl Snacks

I write this post as I sit in my suite at the Canyon Ranch Resort in Lenox. For those of you who don’t know what Canyon Ranch is, basically it’s an all inclusive health resort. You get perfectly portioned meals, lots of exercise classes each day, a pool, gym, running track and spa. It’s detox heaven, exactly what I need before I head back to the retox at Hopkins on Friday. It’s been a nice long break and I’ve enjoyed it so much but I miss all my friends and even Baltimore, so it’s about time to go home. But back to Canyon Ranch. I’ll definitely be doing a review in a later post.

Now I have to talk about something more important. The New England Patriots, my favorite sports team. You all should know that they played in their division play off game yesterday, but for those of you who suck and don’t care… THEY WON. Which was expected. Next week they play the Baltimore Ravens, which is heartbreaking seeing as I love both teams and I respect Ray Lewis so much. But of course it’s Brady and the boys who I will be rooting for next Sunday. Hopefully Ninkovich will pull off a few more pivotal plays again.

What does this have to do with food? Well one of the countless reasons football is my favorite sport to watch is the tradition surrounding it. Every Sunday millions of Americans sit down to drink some beers and scream at the TV while watching hours on end of the game. Most of those people will sit down to pizza, hamburgers, chips and dip, and wings. Of course it’s a little hard to enjoy the usual game day fare when you’re vegan and trying to eat a little healthier. The solution? Buffalo cauliflower wings!

IMG_2194

I’m sure if you’re on Pinterest then you’ve seen this recipe before, it’s become kind of a thing. As buffalo wings are one of the things I miss since being vegan, this was a perfect recipe to try my hand at. I used PETA’s recipe, but in the one posted below I changed it a bit. I thought they were a little too floury, and the margarine unnecessary. I also added in some cornstarch to make them a little crispier. Also I apologize again for the photos (ok this is getting too common) I took them with the good ole iPhone.

Just some other ideas for vegan game day snacks — Chips and guac, raw veggies, or maybe try your hand at some vegan pretzels? I like my pretzels with mustard but here’s a great recipe from Fork and Beans for a jalapeno cheese pretzel.

Vegan Buffalo Cauliflower Wings

Ingredients:

1 head of cauliflower, cut into small florets. Really whatever size you’d like them to be.

1.5 tsp cornstarch

2 tsp. garlic powder

1 cup water or soy milk

3/4 cup flour (I used whole wheat but if you’re not too concerned with the difference between whole and all purpose, AP would probably taste better)

1 cup buffalo sauce (I like my “wings” with lot of sauce so I probably used closer to two cups… oops)

IMG_2190

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees and grease a pan.

2. Mix water or milk with flour, cornstarch and garlic powder.

3. Once well combined, cover cauliflower with the mixture. A good method would be to just dunk the cauliflower right into it so that they are evenly coated. Don’t make the coating too thick.

4. Bake cauliflower for about 15 minutes, until the coating has goldened a bit.

5. Cover the cauliflower with buffalo sauce. Again, dunking would be a good method.

6. Bake for an additional 5-8 minutes.

IMG_2193

IMG_2191

Be careful to watch the florets while they’re in the oven as each oven is different, and mine has been pretty¬†temperamental lately.

Who will you be cheering for next week? Remember there is only one right answer.

What are the traditional snacks at your Super Bowl Party.

Yay go Pats!

Leave a Reply

