In The Words of LMFAO, I Work Out!

If you’ve read my introductory post you probably know part of the reason I became vegan was to make better food decisions, while also fighting the weight I put on in college. Right now I’m definitely at a perfect weight and I don’t want you all to think I’m changing it up to lose more weight. But the truth of the matter is I am really out of shape. Ever since I had to stop horse back riding I’ve let myself become lazy and sit around watching romantic comedies instead of going to the gym.

And I really want to be in shape, just for my own self gratification. So first I told myself I was going to try and train for a half marathon. And let me tell you, that is not happening. I blame it mostly on the fact I have sports induced asthma and tendonitis in one ankle but let’s be honest, I also can’t stand running more than a 5k. And I have a feeling a lot of you out there feel the same…

So instead I’m going to start doing yoga, get my ass back to the gym and on the elliptical and do strength exercises during tv shows. If you have ever been on Pinterest I’m sure you’ve seen those workout routines that have you do, say ten squats every time Chuck or Blair say they can’t be together (yes that is a reference to my favorite tv show of all time, Gossip Girl). I tried one of these routines and it actually was a great strength workout. I ended up having to do practically 100 squats. And it burned.

But it’s not just about working out for my journey to being fit. I’m also going to try and stop posting baked good recipes all the time. So get ready for some healthy lunch or dinner ideas coming up.

Like today’s recipe! Spicy tomato, vegetable sauce with rotini. I tried to think of a shorter, more glamorous name but I got nothing. Clearly it’s time for me to go back to school and start creative writing again…

Another special note about this recipe is I made it with my cousin, one of my closest friends. She had made it a bucket list item to get on the blog so here’s my shout out to you, Genna! Thanks for joining with me to make such a healthy delicious dish.CD8U6307

Also, as a precursor for the recipe, if you don’t like heat in your pasta sauce just omit the red pepper flakes and then it will just be a delicious garlicky, red sauce. Also you can choose any time of pasta for this but I would suggest using something like rotini or shells or ziti so they can hold more sauce.

photo

Easy Spicy Tomato Vegetable Sauce with Rotini

Ingredients:

15-20 cherry tomatos, cut into halves

1/2 medium yellow onion, diced,

1 orange pepper, cut into bite sized pieces

1-2 portobello mushroom caps, sliced

2 garlic cloves

1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

1/4 tsp oregano

2 tbsp olive oil

1/2 cup favorite pasta sauce (only add if you want a saucier sauce) (sorry that’s a terrible description)

Salt and pepper to taste

1 box rotini

CD8U6301

Directions:

1. Heat water on stove.

2. While water is heating, add oil to pan on medium heat. Once the oil is heated add garlic and red pepper flakes.

3. Once the garlic is browned, add tomatos, onion and pepper.

4. Once the tomatos have broken down, add salt, pepper, oregano and mushrooms. Hopefully by this point the water is boiling and the pasta has been added.

5. Once the pasta is cooked, add a quarter cup of pasta water and however much red sauce you want to bring the sauce to the desired consistency.

6. Pour the pasta into the sauce pan with the sauce and cook for a minute or so. Serve immediately.

It’s such an easy sauce and you can really sub in more or less vegetables as you choose.

CD8U6322CD8U6316CD8U6309

What do you all do for fun workouts?

Any dinner or lunch dishes you want me to feature on the blog?

Happy eating!

One thought on “In The Words of LMFAO, I Work Out!

Leave a Reply

