Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, Good Eats

Sorry that it has been a while, but I’m sure Christmas and travelling are adequate excuses for being a little lax. However, as a result from Christmas, new surprises for the blog! My parents are amazing and got me a real camera! No more iPhone pictures that have to be overedited and unfocused. I apologize in advance for the increase in pictures for the next few posts, I can’t help myself. Hopefully you’ll enjoy them as much as I do.

Another gift came from my brother, who got me Veganomicon! It’s basically the ultimate gourmet vegan cookbook that makes elevated vegan cooking easy. Get ready for some recipes to pop up from there…

And finally, my last vegan related gift is another package of Allison’s Gourmet. It included salted chocolate peanut brittle, a foursome of truffles and peppermint chocolate bark. This is where today’s recipe comes in. I had been hoping to make some Christmas cookies to bring up to the family farm where we went for the holiday. Unfortunately, the time between me coming home from school and leaving for the farm left little time to do anything except throw my dirty laundry out of my bag and throw clean clothes in for the trip. But as soon as I got home today I knew what I wanted to do. Make chocolate chip cookies, but with the peppermint bark. So I turned to one of my most trusted blogs, Dreena Burton’s Plant Powered Kitchen, that I follow to make cookies and away I went.

DSCN0010Ingredients (adapted from Plant Powered Kitchen’s Recipe):

1 cup whole-wheat pastry flour

1 tsp baking powder

1⁄2 tsp baking soda

1⁄8 Splenda

1⁄4 tsp sea salt

1⁄3 cup pure maple syrup

1 – 1 1⁄2 tsp pure vanilla extract

1⁄4 cup organic neutral flavored oil

1⁄2 Cup Crushed Peppermint Bark

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350°F (176°C).

2. In a bowl, sift in the flour, baking powder, and baking soda.

3. Add the sugar and salt, and stir until well combined.

4. Add in the maple syrup, vanilla, oil and crushed bark.

5. Stir through until just well combined (do not overmix).

6. Place large spoonfuls of the batter on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and flatten a little.

7. Bake for 11 minutes, until just golden.

8. Let cool on the sheet for no more than 1 minute (again, to prevent drying), then transfer to a cooling rack.

DSCN0004

DSCN0006

DSCN0012

Makes 8-10 large cookies. And I promptly ate 3 of them. And my mother ate 3. These were amazing, the mint really made them fabulous. They were a little drier than I would have liked so I plan to play around with applesauce added to the batter. If you have any other suggestions for making them more moist let me know!

DSCN0016

DSCN0028

 

What are some of your favorite cookie recipes? I’d love to veganize them. And I’d love some feedback on the pictures! Another huge thanks to my parents for getting me the camera and to my friend Jeff for helping them pick it out and for giving me some photo taking tips.

Don’t think I was the only one to receive a vegan themed present. I got my dad the Vegan Slow Cooker Cookbook 😀 get ready for some recipes from that as well.

DSCN0020

DSCN0019

I hope everyone had an amazing holiday, I know I did. I’m so grateful for everything I have received this year and for the family that has supported me every step of the way.

Happy eating!

 

DSCN0039

DSCN0036

DSCN0033

 

 

Leave a Reply

