Almost Home!

The final countdown has begun, with only one full day left before I finally return to New England! You would think this means I have been non stop studying for my finals but of course it means I’m procrastinating by baking. Nothing better than taking a study break to make a microwave corn muffin or a mini pear crisp or a whole pumpkin loaf. However, with only my hardest class left to study for I’m sad to say this will most likely be my last until next week. But I managed to stuff a Use It Up Tuesday and two recipes into this post, hopefully that will keep you happy and full until next time.

First for Use it Up Tuesday I decided to make a miniature pear crisp. My parents had sent me Harry and David care package (thanks again Mom and Dad!) and all that was remaining was a single sad pear. What better way to use an over ripe fruit than in dessert. And now that I’ve finally admitted that oats may be my favorite food of the moment, a crisp was the obvious choice. With a little maple syrup the whole thing came together perfectly. And of course I just had to use up some of my left over dark chocolate too so that got loaded up on top. The end result? A perfect individual pear crisp I was able to bake in my toaster oven.

IMG_2128

Ingredients:

1 very ripe pear

1/2 cup oats (I used just regular Quaker Oats)

1 tablespoon maple syrup

1 tablespoon dark chocolate chips (optional) (make sure they’re vegan!)

Directions:

1. Cut up pear into small slices.

2. Place slices in toaster oven safe bowl, plate, etc.

3. Mix oats and maple syrup then press onto pear until it has filled in all the spaces and has a small layer on top.

4. Bake in toaster oven at 400 degrees for 10-15 minutes until the oats are toasted and light brown.

Gooey, warm pear and oats

Gooey, warm pear and oats

Use It Up Tuesday turned into Use it Up Wednesday when I decided to use one of my lingering cans of pumpkin. To celebrate the end of finals for my hard working room mate I made pumpkin bread laced with even more left over dark chocolate. I tweaked a recipe a little to make do with the ingredients I had so the texture wasn’t perfect although it tasted great. And by not having any oil it made it a little healthier!

Vegan Pumpkin Bread with Chocolate Chips

Ingredients:

1 2/3 cups whole wheat pastry flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

1 can pumpkin

3/4 cup sugar

3 Tablespoons maple syrup

1/2 cup water

1 chia egg (1 Tablespoon ground chia + 3 Tablespoons water)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350° F. Prepare 1 regular sized loaf pan (8.5 X 2.5 X 2) by spraying it with cooking spray.

2. Whisk together ground chia seed with water in a small bowl with a fork and let it sit for a few minutes until an gel like consistency forms.

3. In a large bowl, combine the dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt). Combine the wet ingredients (pumpkin, sugar, maple syrup, water, and chia egg) in a medium-sized mixing bowl and blend well. Add the liquid mixture to the dry and stir well.

4. Pour batter into the loaf pan and place on the center rack of oven. Bake for 60 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

5. Allow to cool before removing from pan.

Notes: I used chia seed but you could use any egg replacer. Also I used an entire can of pumpkin even though the original recipe asked for a cup. Although it was a bit mushy it was still delicious. It’s up to you how pumpkiny you want it.

All wrapped up for my room mate

All wrapped up for my room mate

IMG_2132IMG_2130

I hope you all have survived finals thus far. I know I’m struggling but the end is in sight!

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

