The Final(s) Week

I’m sure all of you college readers out there are suffering the same thing as me right now: Finals Week. (Of course, if you’re a friend of mine you know it’s actually my first day in the lib since the beginning of reading period. Oops.) Hence the lack of posts, of which I am sorry. But one week until I go home, and just wait until I have a full kitchen to work in. But for now here is one for all you procrastinators.

I think the best time to cook is when it’s for someone else. So when my sorority pham decided to have a dinner together before we all went our separate ways, I jumped at the chance to make something. I’m so lucky to have a group of friends who are willing to put up with my restricted diet, especially considering two of the six of us are gluten free.

So of course I had to do something vegan, gluten free, and fast. Since I don’t have an oven for myself I headed to my friend’s apartment early to whip something up before everyone else arrived. What’s an easy, comforting meal to help everyone through finals? Potatoes of course. So I grabbed some potatoes, a few sprigs of rosemary and a healthy helping of salt and pepper and considered it a success.

Delicious comfort food

Delicious comfort food

Rosemary Roasted Potatoes

Ingredients:

10-15 small, purple potatoes (I’m not sure exactly how much they ended up weighing so as usual I apologize for this being vague)

3 sprigs of rosemary, leaves cut off and chopped

Salt and pepper to taste

1 Tablespoon olive oil

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

2. Chop up potatoes into bite sized pieces and place into a baking tray.

3. Drizzle on olive oil and stir the potatoes around until they are all covered in olive oil.

4. Sprinkle on rosemary, salt and pepper.

5. Cook in oven for 15-20 minutes.

Here are a few pictures from the feast… one of my friends made quinoa salad with corn, black beans and mushrooms. Another brought cooked carrots that sadly weren’t vegan. My Turkish friend brought Turkish rolls, but they had cheese in them :(. And my other friend brought roasted squash that was fabulous. Needless to say I ate way too much. Oh well, it’s finals week.

The full spread

The full spread

Sweet, roasted squash

Sweet, roasted squash

Quinoa Salad

Quinoa Salad

 

 

Thanks for stopping by! Don’t forget to comment or e-mail me questions at vegancollegiate@gmail.com… I have a post coming up answering some questions for readers.

Leave a Reply

