College Kitchen Conundrum

I had this whole post worked out that would show off my latest baked good – Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread. Unfortunately, the whole loaf was gone before I could get a picture. Actually, my friend and I made two half loaves — one gluten free and one glutenous. I really applaud those of you out there who can do gluten-free, the taste really does not do it for me. However, I believe both loaves turned out great. We used to Happy Herbivore recipe. Be warned, these are delicious but they aren’t the buttery, calorie laden breads that Momma makes. They taste healthy. Also, if you do gluten-free flour, add a teaspoon of xantham gum per cup of flour, and it will take extra time to bake. Here is the glutenous recipe:

Ingredients

  • ¼ cup plant-based milk
  • ¼ tsp lemon juice
  • 15 ounces pumpkin
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp pure maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp baking powder

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350F. Grease or spray a standard bread pan. Whisk non-dairy milk and lemon juice together until bubbly and set aside. In a medium mixing bowl, cream pumpkin, sugar, syrup and extract together. In a large bowl, whisk pumpkin pie spice, flour, baking soda and baking powder together. Pour wet mixture into dry mixture and stir until just combined. Pour into bread pan, using a spatula to evenly distribute and smooth out the top. Grab a large piece of aluminum foil and make a tent over the pan. Bake for 1 hour, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. If using icing, prepare while bread is baking. Once the bread has cooled but is still slightly warm, gently remove it from the pan and on to a serving plate.

However, on to other things. Like my kitchen. As I’ve mentioned before, my kitchen is tiny and practically useless. There is no counter space, no oven, no microwave. Of course, you gotta work with what you got and I’ve been trying. I’ll be honest, I think I’ve made my own meal twice in the past month. Not exactly working that hard. But I’ve turned over a new leaf, and I’m going to make a valid effort to make most of my own meals. Today? I’m two for two. Not that mixing a cup of Cheerios with a tablespoon of strawberry jam is exactly trying, but I’m also working with limited ingredients. That’s been a big issue — ingredients. If anyone has recommendations for what I should have stocked that would be great! Remember, all I have is a toaster oven and a stove top. Also, things go bad quickly and I’m working on a budget.

Anyways, I included some pictures of my kitchen to give you an idea of what I have to deal with. I did manage to saute some veggies today with marinara sauce that made for a good wholesome lunch, but sauteed veggies is a bit dull huh. I’ll update you all soon on my cooking conundrum!

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

