Vegan Banana Bread

I am not one to follow directions well when I cook, usually replacing ingredients with others that have none of the same effect. However, I have quickly realized with baking it is almost always best to follow exactly the recipe exactly. As an amateur chef in every since, this is a recipe I used from Lindsay Nixon’s The Happy Herbivore. I’ve also included a picture that is almost as amateur as my cooking, but what can really be expected from a poor college student who can only afford a iPhone camera.

As a side note to the recipe, you should definitely leave the bread in for the full 45 minutes, unlike my impatient self who had to take it out after about 35 minutes. As delicious as it was, the middle sank after it cooled and it was a bit mushy. I believe if I had actually let it use the full amount of time suggested the whole thing would have been fluffy and perfect.

I consider this recipe to be a total success. It usually takes me a couple of tries to get something right but other than the undercooked part this came out wonderfully. Even my non vegan friend couldn’t stop eating it and between the two of us the thing was gone in an hour. Not working out so well for my back to school diet…

Just a few more notes on the recipe: I mashed the bananas using a fork rather than the suggested spatula because I found it mushed the bananas into perfect small pieces without them being completely pureed. Also, because my mother refuses to buy real sugar anymore, I used a sugar substitute for the white sugar and it came out fine. And finally, it wouldn’t be one of my creations if something wasn’t subbed in. I used light brown sugar rather than dark, and it still came out fine. Next time I’ll make a solid effort to get dark brown just to see if there is a difference.

Image

“The Happy Herbivore” Banana Bread

1/4 cup non-dairy milk
1/4 tsp lemon juice
4-5 spotted or browning bananas
1/2 cup dark brown sugar
1/2 cup raw sugar
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
2 cups whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 baking powder
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 tbsp pure maple syrup (I omitted, and it was still plenty sweet!)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease loaf pan. Whisk together milk and lemon juice and set aside. Cream bananas with sugars by hand and set aside. In a large bowl, whisk spices, flour, baking soda and baking powder together. Add milk-lemon juice and banana mixtures, as well as all remaining ingredients, to the flour mixture and stir until just combined. Pour into loaf pan and smooth out top. Make a tent over the pan with a large piece of aluminum foil and bake 45-60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Leave a Reply

